Recent Updates

Last post
Notes from the biomass will continue at nftb.net. My...
spitshine - 2006-07-16 13:11
Stubborn
OK, you got me. While technically not blogging at the...
spitshine - 2006-07-07 10:55
Greetings from another...
Greetings from another HBS-founder (media-ocean.de)....
freshjive - 2006-06-15 20:06
HBS manifesto will be...
Hi there! I am one of the hard blogging scientsts. We...
020200 - 2006-06-15 18:13
Latter posts - comment...
Things to do when you're not blogging: Taking care...
spitshine - 2006-04-29 18:46

About this blog

About content and author

A few posts of interest

The internet is changing... Powerpoint Karaoke
Quantifying the error...

Link target abbreviations

[de] - Target page is in German
[p] - Paywall - content might not be freely available
[s] - Subscription required
[w] - Wikipedia link
More...

Search

 

Archive

March 2006
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
 
 
 
 2 
 4 
 5 
 6 
 8 
 9 
11
12
16
17
18
19
20
21
23
24
25
26
27
28
30
31
 
 

Credits

Hard blogging scientists at work

The keywords Biology or Science in Technorati are dominated by popular science blogs, many of them discussing other topics ranging from politics to Harry Potter side by side. My preferences for this blog are different: I concentrate on sciene - bioinformatics and genomics - and mainly want to communicate with fellow scientists on special interest themes. There are a few blogs around that follow a similar setup, several in my blogroll.

Every once in a while, I was inclined to follow the trend to write a little manifesto for this style of blogging. I decided to focus on my content first and post the meta-content at a time when I think I have arrived at some stable point - which is yet to come.

I am a hard bloggin' scientist. Read the Manifesto.

It turns out that the hard bloggin' scienstist, a group of mostly German bloggers already came up with a manifesto, which includes several pieces that I had in mind. I am rather close to put the badge on this website. Just that "science is free speech" - it's a little more than that - feels a little too simplistic for the first paragraph.

The background of most of the founding scientists seems to be humanities and rather than life sciences or computer science. Many of the blogs are not very focussed on science yet but the manifesto comes closest to my approach to blogging as a scientist and is worth studying if you reflect on how to use your blog as a scientist.
020200 - 2006-06-15 18:13

HBS manifesto will be updated

Hi there!

I am one of the hard blogging scientsts.

We are about to enhance the manifesto. The current Version is 0.1 and we will continue updating the manifesto, since we have also scientists in house who research about blogs.

greetings!

Martin / 020200

freshjive - 2006-06-15 20:06

Greetings from another HBS-founder (media-ocean.de).

"...which includes several pieces that I had in mind.."

Why don't you share what you had it mind and we can get a discussion going. Help us improve and extend the manifesto! :-)

spitshine - 2006-07-07 10:55

Stubborn

OK, you got me. While technically not blogging at the moment, I should at least respond to your requests.

Ideas that I do support and I had in mind where with giving credit and communicating your work in beyond what is required to give you credits. We can go through the items individually, let's start at No.1.

"1. I believe that science is about freedom of speech."
While freedom of speech (or the right to express your ideas) is vital to science, you can't equate the two.
There is the "scientific method", which people more skilled in these arts have written tomes about, which could be summarized to state what science is about.

Certainly, I would not start the manifesto with that note.

Trackback URL:
https://binf.twoday.net/stories/1731497/modTrackback

Elsewhere...

Status

Online for 6968 days
Last update: 2006-07-16 13:11

Blogs
Conferences
Databases
Journals
Meta
Misc.
Papershow
Patents
PPI
Predictions
Publishing
The young PI
Useful tools
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog