Recent Updates

Last post
Notes from the biomass will continue at nftb.net. My...
spitshine - 2006-07-16 13:11
Stubborn
OK, you got me. While technically not blogging at the...
spitshine - 2006-07-07 10:55
Greetings from another...
Greetings from another HBS-founder (media-ocean.de)....
freshjive - 2006-06-15 20:06
HBS manifesto will be...
Hi there! I am one of the hard blogging scientsts. We...
020200 - 2006-06-15 18:13
Latter posts - comment...
Things to do when you're not blogging: Taking care...
spitshine - 2006-04-29 18:46

About this blog

About content and author

A few posts of interest

The internet is changing... Powerpoint Karaoke
Quantifying the error...

Link target abbreviations

[de] - Target page is in German
[p] - Paywall - content might not be freely available
[s] - Subscription required
[w] - Wikipedia link
More...

Search

 

Archive

February 2006
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
 
 
 
 3 
 4 
 5 
 6 
 7 
 8 
11
12
16
17
19
20
21
24
25
26
28
 
 
 
 
 

Credits

Recent additions

The following blogs have been in my blogroll for some time - I'd like to point them out anyway. While it shows that they started recently, all of them have potential to contribute to the blogosphere and arrive in the magic middle.

Nature erratum is my preference amongst the grad student blogs that uses anonymity to reflect on the process, hence other PhD students might get the most out of it. The advice to fedex your application (and hopefully its positive results) are worth following up.

The initial reason to read Blogging the biotech revolution by "Francis Crick" was to make fun of it, I have to confess - that combination was just too much. However, the content - mostly conference coverage - reads well versed and I hope to see more of it.

Unlike the two above, Deepakh Sing has no intentions of hiding himself in anonymity at business|bytes|genes|molecules. His rather playful blog connects nanotechnology and bioninformatics in a unique way.
[Thanks for the link, Robin]

The main shortcoming of the above blogs is the small number of posts per time - I can only advise to continue.
Deepak Singh (guest) - 2006-02-25 21:01

Someone noticed!!

Hi,

Thanks for noticing my blog. Unless my employers tell me, I do not intend to stop blogging as I consider blogs to be a critical information sharing medium, and are only going to become more mainstream in the future.

Keep up the good work.

spitshine - 2006-03-02 16:25

Got blogging policies?

Do you think you should be blogging if your employers could disagree with it?
Deepak Singh (guest) - 2006-03-02 20:27

Very good question. Blogging is something I do for fun and I try to blog about subjects of personal interest, but that can lead to posts that may disagree with company philosophy (hence the disclaimer somewhere on the blog). That said, I do take care and avoid anything where there could be a conflict of interest, more as a matter of principle than anything else.

My employers haven't said anything to me, so the question is moot. But in the hypothetical scenario, I think that as long as certain boundaries (insider info, conflict of interest) are not crossed, blogging is a good thing.
spitshine - 2006-03-03 13:00

Is there a simple separation between your personal interest and business interests - after all, you are not blogging about pop music? On the other hand, companies like Google or Microsoft have created (liberal) blogging policies so it should be simple for your employer to pick and install one.

In fact, I would prefer if more employers would establish policies, rather than having people hanging in the air.
Deepak (guest) - 2006-03-03 21:11

I think there is a separation that can be made. I introduced RSS to many in our company, so unless more people really understad blogging and social media, especially in the business I am in, policies are a long way off.

The best thing to do is to be objective, pick your topics appropriately. There is enough good science out there.

If I was a designated company blogger, I would probably decline, unless I was given carte blance. That said think all product managers should maintain blogs for their customers. I blog because I love science and technology, and am always interested in how society and companies can leverage them. I actually used to blog about music too (my other interest), but decided to focus on science over time.
spitshine - 2006-03-04 23:06

Can you blog successfully outside your core-expertise?

Funny you mention your first blogs in music. Before Notes from the Biomass I started to blog somewhat aimlessly about pop culture and my daily life. At some point, I became convinced that you can't blog routinely on a topic that is not concerned with what you do for a living and consequently changed.
Deepak (guest) - 2006-03-05 00:23

Comfort zone

First of all, thanks for the excellent discussion. IMO, discussion is something that is missing from too many blogs.

As to your question, I would say "It is difficult". I could blog on music, but my blog would not be that useful, since my expertise is limited and frankly, I do not keep up with the trends as much as I should. For music, I chose to start a lens on Squidoo instead and just point to other sites.

I wonder how many people actually do blog outside their comfort zone?
spitshine - 2006-03-07 10:31

To continue...

We are way off topic now. How about to end the discussion here? Let's do some reading - the matter must have been discussed previously on other blogs - and draft a post.

Trackback URL:
https://binf.twoday.net/stories/1588465/modTrackback

Elsewhere...

Status

Online for 6961 days
Last update: 2006-07-16 13:11

Blogs
Conferences
Databases
Journals
Meta
Misc.
Papershow
Patents
PPI
Predictions
Publishing
The young PI
Useful tools
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog